I want a hot body but I also want muffins

Yoghurt, oatmeal, granola, smoothie, egg whites, fruit, avocado,… No.
French toast, pancakes, bacon, syrup, waffles, pastries,… Abso-fuckin-(g)lutely. Sometimes waking up is so cruel you need to counter the experience by putting calories in your mouth. Soothing, gooey, lovely calories in the form of baked goods.

Just one little problem. I have lost my baking mojo. Cookie dough that runs faster than Usain Bolt, yoghurt cake that could be used in the Olympic hammer throw competition… In these last weeks of baking history every possible disaster struck. I’m not usually a quitter, but when your baking sheet catches fire it’s really time to reconsider your life path. That last scene did have some cinematic potential, but  brushing smouldering pieces of baking parchment off your shoulder sort of messes with your confidence.

However, what’s true for life is true for the kitchen. Sometimes you need to pick up where you left off, be brave, put your chest out, keep your head high and take the muffin tin out of the kitchen kabinet. Also true: sometimes you need to cut down on sugar. Mainly because you’ve run out. Additionally because balancing out the mayonnaise in my previous post seems like a good idea. Maybe because you’re going to hang out at the beach in sunny Portugal in less than two weeks.

My craving for sweet treats conquered my fear of the oven and I got myself to take the coconut oil from the pantry. Coconut oil? Well. I confess. I’m a power food hipster in disguise. Sometimes I even throw some chia seeds in a smoothie. Don’t ask, don’t tell. Food blogger Kate and her dog Cookie do the same.  They even add some whole wheat flower, honey, eggs, yoghurt and raspberries to said coconut oil. Yes you can, I said to myself. Yes you can bake those healthy raspberry muffins.

Yes I could. Yes I did. More or less to be fair, because of course I ran out of raspberries and of course I noticed too late that I was missing an egg. Nothing to worry about because my kitchen was spattering more magic than the latest Harry Potter story. Thirty-two minutes after taking my courage and the mixing bowl in both hands, an enchanting smell arose from the oven. My baking mojo is back and I have delicious breakfast goodies for days to come. Sidenote: I cheated by adding caster sugar to serve. This body is going to the beach anyway.

Recipe, thanks to Cookie and Kate: http://cookieandkate.com/2016/healthy-raspberry-muffins-recipe/ . I used honey and a frozen mix of forest fruits instead.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Nu voel ik alsof ik het ook moet maken want het ziet er lekker uit. Maar gezond is zo saai, meneer 😦

    Like

    1. Pauline says:

      Het is echt heel lekker! En de poedersuiker doet u beter voelen, promise! 🍴❤

      Like

  2. Laura Trimeche says:

    ZIN IN!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

