Feel (cookie) batter soon

Ah, fall. The crisp air, the changing leaves, the cinnamon on everything. Not to mention the congested nose, the scratchy throat and the unstoppable sneezing. Don’t get me wrong, fall is still my favorite season. I’m just having a little trouble getting used to it.

I’ve spent the last two days indoors with a blanket and a hell of a common cold. Luckily, my job permits working from home so I don’t feel too unproductive. Meetings can do without snotty me struggling with a box of tissues. Going through e-mails is OK when there’s ginger carrot soup on the stove.

After a few hours of comfortably indulging in tea and website updates it hit me. That sneaky sense of restlessness that comes with not feeling bad enough. I’m terrible at being sick. I get why people drag themselves to their offices even though they are spreading germs like it’s a carnival. I, however, am responsibly staying  at home and contaminating only my close ones. You’re welcome.

So, restlessness. I have to be either down and out and not able to move a limb, or I need to find something to do until completely exhausted and forced to lie down. There’s not much you can do with watery eyeballs and a running nose but I tried anyway. Clean kitchen? Check! Leave the dirtiest grill rack for someone else to clean because I’m sick? Check! Still not drained enough to actually go rest? Obviously. Time to bring out the big guns: some serious chocolate chip cookie baking. Flour mixing, butter creaming and elaborate hand washing was just what I need. I was about to add the eggs when I realized something. We were out of eggs. Nothing but a bump in the road, I figured. These cookies are happening whatever it takes. Since Google is our go-to source for medical diagnosis, I decided I couldn’t go wrong with consulting it for egg replacements. The odds are definitely in my favor. It turns out that baking powder, olive oil and water actually do the trick. As do the cookies, because once they’re out of the oven I’m officially ready to drop.

The cookies are cooling down on the counter. Please eat them because I can’t taste a thing anyway. If anyone is looking for me, I’m in bed wrapped in blankets like a burrito roll. Definitely sick enough.

COMMON COLD COOKIES WITH CHOCOLATE, OATMEAL AND PEANUT BUTTER
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking power
1 cup softened buter
¾ cup peanut butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar (dark or light)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs  (mixture of 4 tablespoons water, 2 teaspoons olive oil and 2 teaspoons baking powder)
1 ½ cup quick-cooking oats
2 cups chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 190°C. Wash hands to not get sick. Combine flour and baking powder in a small bown. Beat butter, peanut butter, sugars and vanilla extract until creamy. Add eggs. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in oats and chocolate chips. 1 tablespoon of dough equals 1 cookie. Bake. Wash hands again ;).
Leave a Reply

