A woman’s place is in the house (and in the senate)

Allow me to elaborate on the title: a woman’s place is also in the parliament, in the government, in the royal palace or wherever she chooses to be.

I’m with you, marching women of the world. My own heroism was limited to recovering from a severe case of flu this past weekend, but I found myself moved by the many outcries while gulping down chicken soup. By the “I can be president,”sign by a little girl. By “This I what a feminist looks like,” by two older gentlemen wearing matching caps. Or the “Ninety, nasty and not giving up,” coming from a grandmother that would definitely be friends with mine. “The future,” by a man holding his baby girl. “Grab ‘em by the patriarchy,” “Girls just wanna have fundamental rights.” I loved every single one of them. I saw pictures of friends protesting in rainbow headbands, pussy hats and kitty underwear.“ We’re as creative as we are angry.

As a middle-class, European, urban, straight, caucasian female who benefitted from affordable education (thank you Belgium!) one could argue joining the protest is easy. I’m not going to deny it is. But if we don’t use this (sadly still privileged) right for the greater good, how can we expect others to speak up? Taking a stand also implies giving other people space to do the same. So I promised myself to pull up my panda patterned socks and do my bit. As a granddaughter of the woman whose mother was blamed for sending her daughter to school. As an assistant to a young and promising woman in politics. As a daughter of a mother who taught her children that the feminist fight is never over. As a big sister for two younger ones who still have to make it. As the girlfriend of a man who gets all worked up about misogyny on social media and still reacts anyway. As a proud supporter of my friends that work hard every day for themselves, their jobs and their families. As a witness of female, equal and human rights being challenged. Because they still are. This shall not pass.

You don’t have to go to the matresses, to quote one of my favorite patriarchal mobster movies. Brownie points if you know which one. I’ve decided, however, that I’ll never avoid a discussion at the dinner table again. I vouch to support friends, family and strangers when they stand up for what is right. And if they don’t, I will gather the courage to tell them so. Peacefully, of course.

Discussions at the dinner table usually happen when there is dinner on said table. You can serve anything you like, but I prefer a recipe from my favorite celebrity in the twitter universe:

 

I went to the women’s march. I successfully escaped the escape room. I went to Saturday Night Live. Yesterday was A DELIGHT. [Christine Teigen]

Chrissy Teigen is a delight and so is her cookbook. I got her book called ‘Cravings’ as a Christmas present, and her lemony arugula spaghetti brings happiness wherever it goes. I promise it also does so in heated discussions, because people who love to eat should still be friends at the end.

Lemony arugula Spaghetti, inspired by Chrissy Teigen

Ingredients

dried spaghetta
bacon, finely diced
olive oil
4 cloves of minced garlic
1 fresh red pepper, diced
juice of 1/2 lemon
1,5 cup of grated Parmigiano and more to serve
3 handfuls of arugula
salt and pepper

Directions

1. Cook the spaghetti al dente and save some pasta water
2. Cook the bacon in a skillet large enough to fit the pasta later. Add the olive oil when crisp, add the garlic and red pepper.
3. Add the lemon juice, then the drained pasta and toss to coat. Add the parm and a few tablespoons of pasta water until it’s smooth and silky.
4. Add the arugula and toss until it wilts. Season  with salt and pepper. Cover in extra cheese.

Leave a Reply

